About Us

Established in 1988 by Dr. Lawrence Jones, D.O., F.A.A.O. and Randall Kusunose, P.T., O.C.S. the Jones Institute offers post-graduate Strain Counterstrain seminars for healthcare professionals throughout the United States. Jones Institute Australasia is an affiliated organisation offering SCS courses within the Asia Pacific region. The Jones Institute is the only organization that provides instructors who are certified and authorized to teach the Strain Counterstrain (SCS) technique by Dr. Jones and the Jones Institute.




Physical Therapist and Board Certified in Orthopaedics by the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties. Mr. Kusunose is the director of the Jones Institute and has been a certified instructor of Strain Counterstrain for 28 years. He has authored several chapters and articles on Strain Counterstrain.  He has taught over 500 Counterstrain courses nationally and over 70 international courses in 10 different countries. He is the only clinician to teach and travel with Dr. Lawrence Jones for 9 years. Mr Kusunose has taught over a dozen SCS courses in Australia since 2010.



Mr. Ham comes to us with 29 years of therapist experience and has been using Strain Counterstrain for over 18 years.  Mr. Ham is certified by the Jones Institute to teach Strain and Counterstrain and has taught and assisted numerous courses across the United States. Mr Ham taught the first “fascial” SCS course in Australia in 2014.



mugshot2HAYDN GAMBLING. B.APP.Sc (Physio) APAM

Graduated from the University of South Australia school of physiotherapy in 1989 and has worked in his own private practice (Synergy Manual Therapy) in Adelaide treating clients with chronic pain and dysfunction for over 20 years.  He has taught extensively in Australia and Europe with the Manual Therapy Institute since 1999. Mr Gambling has assisted on over a dozen Australian SCS and is the first Australian therapist to become a Jones Institute certified instructor.






© 2016 Jones Institute Australasia.

We support courses run by the following organisations